Search:

m-cramer Satellitenservices

Inmarsat

Broadband Global Area Network (BGAN, formerly also RBGAN, which stands for Regional Broadband Global Area Network) is a solution for mobile broadband internet access and telephony of the provider Inmarsat.

With a BGAN satellite modem transfer rates up to 492 kbps are possible as well as to phone with it (all data terminals have interfaces for telephones).

At the beginning the user had to adjust the modems to the Thuraya satellites, because Inmarsat uses Thuraya bandwith till the start of its own Inmarsat-4 satellites. Thuraya offers now a own solution called Thuraya-DSL

0001 (2)

BGAN coverage Mid of 2005 the data service was relocated to the new Inmarsatt-4 satellites. With this relocation also the more significant service BGAN was launched and the R from RBGAN was erased.

Mid of 2006 the second Inmarsat-4-satellite starts running. So beside Europe, Africa, Asia and the Middle East also whole America was covered.

At the 18th of august 2008 started the third Inmarsat-4 (I-4) satellite. The BGAN service will be offering in more significant way after a new positioning of the I-4 satellites (approx. 75° northern latitude to 75° southern latitude).

0001 (3)

The Inmarsat BGAN service is now available around the globe, delivered through a global network of three I-4 satellites. The map depicts the three I-4 satellite coverage regions.

This map depicts Inmarsat’s expectations of coverage, but does not represent a guarantee of service. The availability of service at the edge of coverage areas fluctuates depending on various conditions.

BGAN covers now 85% of the global land masses and oceans (the polar regions are shadowed), where 98% of the worlds inhabitants live.

Since the end of august 2010 the IsatPhone Pro is available for voice communication using Inmarsat. The IsatPhone Pro operates all over the world within the polar circles. The use of the telephone with prepaid isallowed in the USA since September 2012.

Suchen und Finden:

m-cramer Satellitenservices

Inmarsat

Broadband Global Area Network (BGAN, früher auch RBGAN, was für Regional Broadband Global Area Network stand) ist eine Lösung für mobilen Breitband-Internetzugang und Telefonie des Satellitenbetreibers Inmarsat.

Mit einem BGAN-Satellitenmodem ist es möglich mit einer Geschwindigkeit von bis zu 492 kbit/s im Internet zu surfen und zu telefonieren (alle Datenterminals haben Anschlussmöglichkeiten für Telefone).

Anfänglich mussten Nutzer ihr Modem noch auf den Thuraya-Satelliten ausrichten, da sich Inmarsat bis zum Start der Inmarsat-4 Satelliten noch der Thuraya-Bandbreite bediente. Nach dem Umzug bietet Thuraya jetzt ihre eigene Datenlösung an, die sie Thuraya-DSL nennt.

BGAN coverage Mitte 2005 ist der Datendienst auf den neuen Inmarsat-4 Satelliten umgezogen. Mit dem Umzug wurde auch der höherwertige Dienst BGAN eingeführt und das R aus RBGAN gestrichen.

0001 (2)

Mitte 2006 wurde der zweite Inmarsat-4-Satellit in Betrieb genommen. Damit wurde neben Europa, Afrika, Asien und dem Mittleren Osten auch der komplette amerikanische Kontinent abgedeckt.

Am 18. August 2008 wurde der dritte Inmarsat-4 (I-4) Satellit gestartet. Nach der Neupositionierung der I-4 Satelliten wird der BGAN Dienst weltweit in optimierter Form zur Verfügung stehen (ca. 75° nördl. Breite bis 75° südl. Breite). Die Neupositionierung war Ende Februar 2009 abgeschlossen.

0001 (3)

BGAN deckt nunmehr 85% der globalen Landmassen und Weltmeere (der Bereich der Polkappen ist abgeschattet) ab, in denen 98% der Weltbevölkerung leben.

Seit Ende August 2010 ist das IsatPhone Pro für die Telefonie über Inmarsat verfügbar. Das IsatPhone Pro funktioniert weltweit innerhalb der Polarkreise, die Nutzung des Telefons mit Prepaid in der USA ist seit September 2012 erlaubt.